Is Cool Whip gluten-free?

Is Cool Whip gluten-free
Rate this post

While it may be hard to believe that Cool whip is gluten free, it is gluten-free and a safe option for people who are gluten-intolerant. This product is made without the use of any gluten-containing ingredients and is a great way to add texture to any dessert. Because it is made from gluten-free, dairy-free, and soy-free ingredients, Cool whip can be used in a variety of recipes.

What is cool whip?

Cool whip is a popular cream topping for many desserts. It is regarded as the imitation of whipped cream and its maker, Kraft, is branding it as ‘whipped topping’.

It has grown more popular through the years because of its creamier, sweeter taste and longer shelf life compared to other cream-based toppings. Cool whip is a favorite topping for pies, chocolate pudding, and other no-bake desserts.

What is cool whip
is cool whip gluten free?

Unlike whipped cream, this product is richer in sugar and has a creamier texture. It is also slightly sweeter than the original. While it might not be as healthy as whipped cream, it is still a safe choice for those with gluten intolerance or celiac disease.

What is cool whip made of?

If we are going to be objective about the cool whip, most of its components are not healthy. It is made of the combination of water, hydrogenated oils, and artificial sweeteners such as aspartame. You can find the complete breakdown of what cool whip is made of in the next section.

Maybe you also like: What Happens If You Drink Too Much Yakult?

Cool whip ingredients

Fact, pre-2010, Cool Whip is actually labeled Kosher, which means that it is made of ‘better ingredients.’ So, down to the crucial information about Cool Whip, this famous pie topping is made of the following:

  • Hydrogenated oils
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Skim milk
  • Light cream
  • Sodium caseinate
  • Artificial flavorings
  • Xanthan and guar gums
  • Beta carotene
  • Polysorbate 60
  • Sorbitan monostearate

Cool whip ingredients

Cool whip calories

This is another crucial piece of information that you should know about Cool Whip: it contains 25 calories per serving. This means that it has 15 more calories compared to real whipped cream. Other nutrition information would be:

  • 8% saturated fat
  • 1% carbohydrate
  • 2% sugar

What Is Gluten?

The structural protein gluten is naturally found in some cereal grains. Specifically, gluten refers to wheat proteins, although it’s also a complex mixture of wheat proteins and prolamins. In many cases, gluten is associated with food allergies. Fortunately, there are several different ways to avoid gluten and other common allergens.

Gluten is found in many foods and is hidden in them as an additive. It can also be found in some medications and personal hygiene products. To make sure a product is gluten-free, read the label carefully and talk to the manufacturer if you are unsure. There are also gluten-free websites where you can find more information.

Read more: Is Baking Soda Gluten Free?

Where Can You Find This Protein?

Gluten is a protein found in many foods, including bread, pizza crusts, breakfast cereals, and pasta. Although it’s completely safe for most people, a small amount of gluten can be harmful to those with certain allergies or dietary requirements. It’s important to know exactly what gluten is and how it affects your body. For example, it is thought that most people consume 5-20 g of gluten each day.

Gluten can be found in wheat, oats, and rye. It may also be present in other foods such as soy sauce, ice cream, and processed meats. Studies have also linked excessive intake of gluten with a number of conditions. Gluten can cross-contaminate other foods and is known as a binding agent.

What does a gluten-free label mean?

There are many different reasons to look for a “gluten-free” label on a portion of food. For one thing, it may be a sign of gluten-free baking. For another reason, it could mean a product is made with gluten-free flour. Regardless of why a gluten-free label is placed on a portion of food, it’s important to know exactly what it means.

gluten-free label mean

First of all, gluten-free foods should not contain wheat. Wheat is a major food allergen under the FDA’s Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA). If wheat is not listed on a gluten-free food label, the food is not gluten-free. And, if it does contain wheat, it must be listed in the ingredients. This way, the consumer won’t be confused about whether the product is gluten-free or not.

In some cases, foods with traces of gluten can be contaminated during processing. This is why it’s important to pay attention to gluten-free labels and only eat certified gluten-free foods. It’s essential to note, though, that a gluten-free label isn’t enough.

Are Gluten-free Foods Safe For Everyone?

Most whole, unprocessed foods can be considered gluten-free, but certain additives can turn gluten-free food into gluten-containing food. Gluten is a protein found in some grains that helps them hold their shape and give them elasticity and moisture. It also gives bread its chewy texture. While gluten is generally safe for most people, it is necessary to avoid eating it if you have celiac disease. Fortunately, many food products do not contain gluten, but if you’re unsure, read the labels carefully.

There is no universal gluten-free definition. That’s why the FDA is exploring the possibility of an “unqualified” gluten-free label. This would provide a more convenient way to identify products that are gluten-free for those who are sensitive to the gluten in them.

Don’t miss articles : Is Twisted Tea Gluten Free?

Is cool whip gluten-free?

Based on Kraft’s disclosure statement on all of their products, yes, Cool Whip is gluten-free. Although it does not have a gluten-free certification, Kraft asserts that this product is made in exclusive facilities and is not gluten contaminated.

Is cool whip gluten-free

If you are concerned about the ingredients in this cream, you can rest assured that it is gluten-free. This popular dessert is made with a dash of skim milk and does not contain gluten.

Is cool whip dairy-free?

Unfortunately, Cool Whip is not dairy-free. The ingredients clearly mention light cream, skim milk, and caseinate. These are all screaming dairy so if you are thinking of adding this cream to your food but you are dairy sensitive, you have to think again and consider other options.

Is cool whip vegan?

The answer to this is a resounding no for many reasons. First, it has dairy content. Second, it has hydrogenated oils and although they are plant-based, they are an underrated source of harm for animals (and this ultimately defeats everything vegan). As such, while Cool Whip is gluten-free, it is not vegan-friendly.

Is cool whip keto-friendly?

This question renders both a yes and a no. The original version is definitely not keto because it has 2% sugar on it. But since Cool Whip expanded, now featuring Extra Creamy, sugar-free, Lite, and the new favorite Season’s Delight, you can now choose keto-friendly Cool Whip.

But then again, you have to remember that Cool Whip is not considered whole food. If you want a surer keto-friendly cool whip, you can make your own.

Is Cool Whip lactose-free?

No. Cool Whip is not lactose-free. Again, because it contains ingredients such as milk, cream, and caseinate, it might pose adverse effects to lactose intolerant people. There are a lot of substitutes that you can use for Cool Whip, nonetheless.

Is cool whip bad for you?

With the existence of 12 product variants of Cool Whip, this question becomes more pressing than ever. Looking at the ingredient breakdown, you do not need a science degree to understand that most of them are unhealthy.

For instance, high fructose syrups and hydrogenated oils have been declared as two of the major risk factors for diabetes and early onset cardiovascular diseases. Natural and artificial flavors might also have gluten contents and well, caseinate can have an adverse reaction to people with dairy allergies and who are lactose intolerant.

Cool whip vs whipped cream

To square the difference between cool whip and whipped cream, we have to look at two aspects: the ingredients and nutrition information of the two.

whipped cream
does cool whip contain gluten?

First, whipped cream has more saturated fat compared to cool whip. However, cool whip contains more sugar than whipped cream. In terms of ingredients, whipped cream has more dairy ingredients out of its seven main ingredients while cool whip has ten ingredients but most of them are artificial sweeteners and harmful chemicals.

There is also a considerable difference in taste when it comes to these two. Whipped cream has a more solid creamy taste compared to cool whip.

Substitute for cool whip

Given what we have just covered about the cool whip, are there substitutes for it? Fortunately, there are, and here are some of the better substitutes for cool whip:

  • Whipped cream Fraiche
  • Italian meringue
  • Whipped sour cream
  • Silken tofu whipped cream topping
  • Coconut cream
  • Cashew whipped cream
  • Matcha whipped cream

Is Kraft cool whip gluten-free?

As has been previously mentioned, all Kraft products are regarded as gluten-free because of their disclosure statement as well as their ingredients label. However, because they do not have an official seal that certifies that Kraft cool whip is gluten-free, you still must take it with caution and in moderation.

Can I use cool whip for a gluten-free rice pudding?

Although whipped cream will always be a tad thicker than cool whip, the latter could still be used as a substitute. However, you have to add more volume of cool whip to your rice pudding for it to reach that desired creaminess in it. On the downside, this also makes the rice pudding more sugar packed.

rice pudding

In addition to high sugar content, it contains high fructose syrups and hydrogenated oils. This can cause a number of health problems, including cardiovascular disease. Also, it contains caseinate, which is known to cause a reaction in dairy-intolerant and allergy-sufferers. Therefore, when using a cool whip for a gluten-free rice pudding, it is best to use it sparingly.

Is Walmart’s cool whip gluten-free?

Walmart’s version of the cool whip would be Great Value cream topping. Like Kraft, its claim is that it is gluten-free.

However, like Kraft too, it does not have any seal that will certify that it is indeed gluten-free. Other than this, there are also worries about cross-contamination due to shared facilities.

How to make homemade dairy-free cool whip

While Cool Whip is gluten-free, it is not vegan-friendly. This is because it contains casein, which comes from milk. While casein is not a major allergen for vegans, it can be a problem for those who have allergies to dairy products. Therefore, cool whip should be eaten in moderation and with extreme caution. A safer option is to make your own cool whip. It is easy to make and only takes a few minutes.

Cool Whip is made with heavy whipping cream, which is usually 30% milk fat. You can also use a substitute product made from stabilized whipped cream. This will make the whipped cream stay in its shape.

How to make homemade dairy-free cool whip

Is cool whip dairy free and gluten free? If you ever find yourself on a bad footing with a commercialized cool whip because of what you learned here, you can always turn to a homemade cool whip. In this section, we will give you a dairy-free cool whip recipe from Go Dairy Free that you can make in a few minutes.


  • 1 can coconut cream or full-fat coconut milk
  • Powdered sugar
  • Vanilla extract
  • Thickener (this is optional)


  1. Chill your whisk and bowl in the fridge for at least 30mins.
  2. Never shake the coconut cream. When you open it and you do not find a scoopable cream on top, you will have to refrigerate it overnight.
  3. Pour ¾ of the coconut cream into the chilled whisk and bowl and beat it for a minute or until creamy and fluffy in consistency.
  4. Add sifted powdered sugar and vanilla extract. Whisk slowly for the flavors to be incorporated into the mixture.
  5. If the product is watery or gooey, you have to add a thickener. Whisk it again for a few minutes until the thickener is fully incorporated into the mixture.
  6. Cover the mixture. Make sure that everything is airtight.
  7. Place the covered mixture in the fridge and let it sit there for at least three days. The cream will thicken with the cold temperature.

For other dairy-free and gluten-free homemade cream toppings, you can find notable recipes from Yummly. There are also a whole lot of homemade vegan whipped cream recipes which you can follow on the net so just explore and be inventive.


Purpose-wise, cool whip has really lived up to its posturing as a more affordable substitute for whipped cream. However, there are a lot of issues surrounding its nutritional value due to the ingredients that it is made of.

Other than this, while it is gluten-free, it could pose a lot of restrictions to people with dairy allergies, celiac disease, and who are lactose intolerant. It is not also a recommended vegan food. With all of these, one thing is reverberating: cool whip can be consumed but always in moderation and with extreme caution.

Read more:

Does Apple Juice Make Your Pee Pee Bigger?

Is It Good to Drink Apple Cider Vinegar Before Bed?